As parents, we know just how important it is to do our best to keep our kids safe. This includes not only making sure they are in a car seat that’s appropriate for their age and size, but also following the new regulations. While many of these new regulations are simply about changing the way you install your child’s seat, not all of them are so simple. In this blog post, we’ll answer some questions about the new Pennsylvania Car Seat Regulations!
What are the new Pennsylvania Infant and Child Safety Regulations?
The new Pennsylvania Infant and Child Safety Regulations went into effect on January 1, 2019. Here are some key things to know about them:
-All new vehicles must have a rear-facing infant car seat as a standard safety feature. If the vehicle doesn’t have this feature, the driver must be able to install one within 30 minutes.
-All new car seats must meet current safety standards, including those for side impact protection. Rear-facing seats must also have a five-point harness system and a built-in emergency button.
-Children younger than 1-year-old must be secured in an appropriate child restraint or device while riding in a passenger seat or in the back of a pickup truck. If the child is not in an appropriate restraint or device, the driver may not transport them without proper safety gear.
-The use of lap belts for children younger than 4 years old has been banned in Pennsylvania, except when used in conjunction with an appropriate child restraint or device. Children who are not using restraints or devices must be seated in the back of the vehicle with the middle seat closest to the window unless they are too large or heavy to fit there
Where do these regulations apply?
Pennsylvania car seat laws apply to all vehicles, including motorcycles and all-terrain vehicles. The new infant and child safety regulations go into effect on January 1, 2020. Here are the major changes:
–All automobiles, regardless of age, must have a front seat belt system that is properly installed and used.
–All children under the age of 12 must be properly restrained in a rear seat or in a designated seating area that is out of the reach of the child.
— infants younger than 1-year-old must not be seated in the front seat of a motor vehicle.
— Children between 1-year-old and 2 years old must not be seated in the front seat of a motor vehicle unless they are properly restrained by using a Safety Belt System, using an approved child restraint system, or are occupying a rear seating area that is out of the reach of the child.
— Children between 2 years old and 12 years old must use an approved child restraint system or be properly restrained in a rear seating area that is out of the reach of the child. Children 13 years old and older are required to use an approved adult safety belt system.
How do these regulations differ from previous Pennsylvania Car Seat Laws?
Pennsylvania has recently updated their infant and child safety regulations. This includes changes to the car seat laws that all parents should be aware of.
The most significant change is that all children under the age of one must be properly restrained in a rear-facing car seat or a child safety seat, unless they are tall enough to ride in a standard-size car seat without the need for a booster.
Additionally, all new cars sold in Pennsylvania must come with a universal car seat fitting system, which allows parents to use an approved car seat for their child.
In addition to these main changes, parents should also be aware of other specific regulations related to car seats. For example, parents are required to use a tether strap if their child is younger than one year old and is not taller than 44 inches tall.
All of these changes and more are covered in more detail in the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation’s newly revised infant and child safety regulations.
After years of debate, Pennsylvania has finally updated its infant and child safety laws. The new regulations go into effect on October 1st, 2016, and are designed to improve the safety of both infants and children in the state.
If you are a parent or guardian who lives in Pennsylvania, it is important to be aware of these changes so that you can make sure your loved ones are as safe as possible while traveling in your car. Here is a list of the most important provisions of the new law: